KEANE invited me to strip at the top of their show

11 May 2010

How could I refuse?

I managed to negotiate some acoustic songs in there too.

Tue 20 Jul 10  Fox Theatre (CA)
Wed 21 Jul 10 Greek Theatre (CA)
Fri 23 Jul 10 House of Blues Las Vegas
Sun 25 Jul 10 Warehouse Live HOUSTON
Mon 26 Jul 10 House of Blues (Dallas)
Wed 28 Jul 10 Chicago Theatre
Fri 30 Jul 10 Molson Amphitheatre TORONTO
Tue 3 Aug 10 Bank of America Pavilion Boston
Thu 5 Aug 10 Merriweather Post Pavilion COLUMBIA MD
Fri 6 Aug 10 Williamsburg Waterfront Brooklyn
Sat 7 Aug 10 Mann Music Center Philly
Tue 10 Aug 10 Riverside Theatre Milwaukee
Wed 11 Aug 10 First Avenue Minni

85 Comments »

Hello

9 May 2010

Sorry for lack of blog. Been being papa and husband and neighbour while managers deal with deals and I begin to plan the next while. Things of note which have happened.

1. The Boys Next Door ( the band made up of the boys next door- yes, they are literally the boys next door) did a gig for the amazing director Wolfgang Becker at his Dancing Into May party. He heard they were good and booked them. The show was superb. Everyone loved them. And they got their first pay cheque.

2. I went to the Berlin Philharmonie to see Motzart and Stravinski  a week ago. Was pretty good. They had a female conductor. Apparently there aren’t many.  The first violinist broke a string, handed the instrument to the player beside him, presumably the second violin, and then the guy behind her pulled some strings out and handed her a shiny new one which she promptly attatched and tuned, then handed the instrument back to the first violinist just in time for his bit. Who said classical music was boring? Not I!!!

3. Clay’s birthday was fantastic. He is now 4! Lots of cake, tons of presents. Playmobil was the order of the day. We danced to Michael Jackson and ate home made pizza.

4. Went to see Sharon Jones and The Dap Kings. They were very good. Very tight. Reminded me of the jazz/funk scene at the Glasgow Art School when I was there. James Taylor Quartet were doing Starski and Hutch and we were trying to understand the finer aspects of Blue Note.

5. I learned a song from w r e c o r d e r on piano. Oooooooohh! (lifts hands under chin)

6. Arranged my first support slot as a solo person. It will be me by myself for these shows. (Announcements to follow soon)

7. Cut the vinyl master of w r e c k o r d e r (corrected—must have missed the k). It sounds amazing.

26 Comments »